Accessibility links

NEWS: Apply for a United Nations Climate Change Award

The UNFCCC is now taking applications for its Momentum for Change Awards, 2020. Follow directions below to submit your entry under one of the categories: Women for Results, Financing for Climate Friendly Investment or Climate Neutral Now – before the 30 April deadline.  From the UNFCCC Secretariat.

We are pleased to let you know that organisations, cities, businesses, schools, governments, and others taking bold leadership on climate change can nominate their work for a UN Global Climate Action award.

The award, the focus of United Nations Climate Change’s Momentum for Change initiative, recognises the world’s most innovative, scalable and replicable examples of action to tackle climate change.

The award showcases people and projects taking bold and effective action, to lend momentum to these efforts and inspire others to act. The selected activities will be recognized and celebrated at the UN Climate Change Conference (COP 26) in Glasgow, Scotland, in November 2020.

Who can apply?

Organisations, cities, businesses, schools, governments and other key players that are taking concrete action on climate change can apply to have their projects recognised as a 2020 UN Global Climate Action award-winner.

Why should you apply?

If your project is selected, you’ll receive a wide range of benefits, including:

  • Attendance to the 2020 UN Climate Change Conference in Scotland (COP 26)
  • Access to policy makers and potential funders during the conference
  • Public recognition by the UN Climate Change secretariat
  • Graphic assets such as promotional videos and professional photography
  • A dedicated page about your project on our website

How to apply?

To apply, you’ll need to first register in the application portal. It will take about an hour to complete an application but you can save your progress at any time and work on it at your convenience. Completed applications must be submitted by 30 April 2020.

What are the categories?

The award will recognise climate action that is already achieving real results in three categories. Below you can find more information about each of the three categories, as well as take a look at winners from previous years.

Climate Neutral Now

Women for Results

Financing for Climate Friendly Investment

Apply online now!

Applications for the 2020 awards are being accepted from now until 30 April 2019 at

Spread the word

Please help us spread the word on social media to help encourage others to apply. Draft posts and digital assets are available on the Trello board here:



Image (right) credit DFID.




Comments are closed.