Accessibility links

Government of Pakistan

The Government of Pakistan is a federal parliamentary system,[1] with an indirectly-elected President as the Head of State and Commander in Chief of the Pakistani Armed Forces, and an indirectly-elected Prime Minister as the Head of Government. The President’s appointment and term are constitutionally independent of the Prime Minister’s term. On September 6, 2008, the Electoral College (composed of the Senate, the National Assembly, and the four Provincial Assemblies) chose Asif Ali Zardari as the eleventh President of Pakistan for a five-year term. The Prime Minister is usually the leader of the largest party in the National Assembly and is assisted by a cabinet of ministers drawn from both chambers of the federal legislature.

CDKN Government of Pakistan Most recent content

FEATURE: Preparing for disasters to come

In this blog, Zafar Iqbal Qadir, Chairman of the Government of Pakistan's National Disaster Management Authority describes the national, regional and local measure being put in place to mitigate against future disaster risks. [more...]

FEATURE: Climate resilient model villages

Shahbaz Sharif, Chief Minister of the Punjab, Pakistan, tells us how his province is 'building back better' after the 2010 floods, to help communities prepare for disasters and adapt to climate change. [more...]