Accessibility links

Reporting for Results-based REDD+ (RRR+) project : Papua New Guinea

Papua New Guinea has had a Climate Change Management Act in place since 2015 and has agreed a national approach toward REDD+ reporting. In 2017, Papua New Guinea’s REDD+ Strategy was launched. Information is shared publicly through the national REDD+ web portal. As a recipient of Forest Carbon Partnership Fund support, the Government of PNG was funded to establish a full Monitoring, Reporting and Verification system for REDD+. The Government has now submitted its Forest Reference Level to the UNFCCC for technical assessment.

Papua New Guinea is taking part in the Reporting for Results-based REDD+ project run by the Coalition for Rainforest Nations and CDKN. The project’s first global conference – at which the partners presented their achievements, challenges, and lessons learned, took place 30-31 January 2018 at Fondazione Eni Enrico Mattei in Milan, Italy. Read the conference blog to learn more about discussions there.

This page showcases the REDD+ readiness presentation made by the Government of Papua New Guinea at the conference. In accompanying remarks, the Government representative said: “We have identified [that as part of the RRR+ project], we need to look at the quality assurance and quality control process for our forest emissions data.”

“We’ll also be looking at how different partners will assist PNG to come up with our technical reports. We want to do climate finance properly for PNG and so the project will be very helpful in this regard. One of the highlights is not only the coordination between the government agencies but also between the donors: that’s important with so many development partners working in the AFOLU (agriculture, forest and other land use) sector in PNG.”

Follow the links to see all the governments’ presentations: Latin America and Caribbean Belize, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Guyana, Panama, Saint Lucia. Africa Cameroon, Democratic Republic of Congo, Gabon, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, MozambiqueRepublic of Congo, Tanzania, Uganda. Asia-Pacific Fiji, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Vanuatu, Vietnam.


Comments are closed.